Appalachian Translational Research Network (ATRN)

Accelerating Discovery Across Appalachia

We are a founding member of the ATRN, which addresses the significant health challenges and disparities specific to Appalachia by enhancing multi-institutional and community research collaborations to accelerate the translation of scientific discoveries for health improvements in this region.

This map was created using materials from the Appalachian Regional Commission.

ATRN Institutions Map

2018 ATRN Summit Highlights 


The 2018 Annual Spring Summit of the ATRN was hosted by the University of Kentucky Center for Clinical & Translational Science on  Sept. 20 - 21. The theme of this year's summit was addressing health disparities through translational research. 

Nearly 150 people from nine institutions attended the two-day Summit, with 46 poster presentations. 

Joyce E. Balls-Berry, PhD, MPE, assistant professor of epidemiology at the Mayo Clinic, delivered a keynote talk on “Keys to Building Successful Community-Engaged Research Partnerships”.

Breakout sessions and podium presentations explored a range of topics, including opioids, cancer, environmental risks, diabetes, and fostering collaborations. 

Read the Kentucky Health News article about the 2018 ATRN Summit here. »  


Keynote Address

"Keys to Building Successful Community-Engaged Research Partnerships" 

Joyce E. Balls-Berry, PhD, MPE, assistant professor of epidemiology at the Mayo Clinic



Slideshow of Photos from the 2018 ATRN Summit 

 The ATRN includes the following members:


  1. Penn State University (Hershey, PA)

  2. The Ohio State University (Columbus, OH)

  3. Ohio University (Athens, OH)

  4. University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH)

  5. West Virginia Clinical and Translational Science Insititute (Morgantown, WV)

  6. University of Kentucky (Lexington, KY)

  7. Marshall University (Huntington, WV)

  8. Wake Forest University (Winston-Salem, NC)

More information is available on the ATRN organization website. » 


UK ATRN Director: