Appalachian Translational Research Network (ATRN)

Accelerating Discovery Across Appalachia

We are a founding member of the ATRN, which addresses the significant health challenges and disparities specific to Appalachia by enhancing multi-institutional and community research collaborations to accelerate the translation of scientific discoveries for health improvements in this region.

This map was created using materials from the Appalachian Regional Commission.

ATRN Institutions Map

The ATRN includes the following members:


  1. Penn State University (Hershey, PA)

  2. The Ohio State University (Columbus, OH)

  3. Ohio University (Athens, OH)

  4. University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH)

  5. West Virginia University (Morgantown, WV)

  6. University of Kentucky (Lexington, KY)

  7. Marshall University (Huntington, WV)

  8. Wake Forest University (Winston-Salem, NC)

  9. iThriv

More information is available on the ATRN organization website. » 


UK ATRN Director: